comments 6

art + dreaming of seattle

20130524-150841.jpg

something totally new, completely unexpected and very exciting has been happening in me over the past 6 months or so.

i have completed one painting. i have a project i started 5 months ago that has finally come together in my head and just needs another evening to be completed. i am painting something for rae for her birthday and have another one in my head that just needs materials buying for me to get started on it. this is weird behaviour for me. i’m not usually like this.

i think i have previously painted one thing my whole life, and i didn’t like it at all. in fact i have written before about how art and creativity have been intimidating subjects for me. i don’t know if it is the newly freed up creative space in my brain (i have spent the past 4 years on a design team for king’s house and ground floor coffee shop and am now on maternity leave) or the influence of our housemate (she is an artist and is so casual and prepared about her art that maybe it has ceased to look like an intimidating process for me) but whatever the reason, i am having a lot of fun creating and seeing the things that are coming out of me. it is so invigorating!

20130524-150906.jpg

this is my first completed project. the idea was swirling around in my head for a couple of days and, as i had all the materials on hand, once i sat down it literally took me about 20 minutes to complete. it is acrylic on canvas.

as i was walking past to wash out my brushes, i glanced down at the painting and my first thought was of seattle. i suppose the black lines could have reminded me of the buildings of the city next to lake washington? seattle was not in my thinking at all whilst painting it as it was a totally abstract idea, but i am calling it ‘dreaming of seattle’ anyway.

sarah

6 Comments

  1. Rod MacIlvaine

    You are an abstract expressionist who is inspired prophetically.

    Perhaps it’s the growth of the prophetic gift that has birthed your creative artistic drive hidden inside. With the birthing of three children, God has birthed new creativity to bless those around you with art.

    I’m loving this new thing he’s doing in you.

    Love, Dad

    • I love you dad. You are so awesome. I’m sue having an art history buff as a father has/had something to do with it! Or the renaissance painting ‘flashcards’ we had to do after dinner every night growing up maybe?! Lol!

  2. jrmacilvaine

    Love You Sarah! And I love this painting! Its funny, because I have just recently become obsessed with sewing & blogging! Its all I want to do in my spare time. I always just thought i was bad at sewing and never did it. And I’ve always hated writing. Now Im determined to figure it out and really enjoying it! Miss you!

    Rach

    • This made me smile. It’s like we have swapped passions! 😉 I love reading your blog! It’s so fun to get to know you better through your writing. And the sewing is so fun. I have a few things I might try from your Instagram pics inspiration! Love you Rachel. So Glad you are in our family!

  3. Pingback: rocking your rental: what have you got to work with? | staying awake

Leave a Reply

